Seven years of Bad Luck? No!

I saw a Facebook post today that has prompted this blog post as a helpful hint to you, to learn from my experience…..and from theirs too.

We’ve all “been there, done that” and learned a lesson in the process.  Now it’s time to share that learning curve with you so that you don’t have to learn the hard way!

This lesson?  How to properly hang a mirror on the wall with success.

When hanging a mirror, get the proper installation items to hang it correctly.  Of course, you need all the usual tools – the “drill/screw gun”, measuring tape, level – that you do know about, I’m sure.

Wall anchors – appropriately sized for the weight of the mirror that you are hanging – are a must!

Notice I did not say picture hanging wire or picture hooks.  There’s a lot of difference in a picture and a mirror and picture hanging hooks are not recommended unless you hit a stud, and then the weight of the mirror could bend the hook.  I would still recommend screws, even in the stud.

More and more warnings can be found on new mirrors that say to only hang with the D rings on the back of a mirror and DO NOT use picture hanging wire.

Instructions

photo

The reason is that a mirror is a lot heavier than a picture and the wired route being possibly the “easiest way”, is definitely not the “best way”.  This wire also carries all the weight in one place of  support, if you use one hook.  If you hang it using the D rings and 2 points of support, with 2 screws, it distributes the weight to the 2 points.  IF you don’t hit a stud when hanging, you must also use wall anchors to even insure your installation more.

Sometimes it’s the wire that is not correctly attached and secured to your mirror, or even not even appropriately sized for the weight of the mirror.  And it can just “pop” when not securely attached as well. This is especially true with antique mirrors – they rarely have the wire securely attached.  You may even need to address the D rings on the back, too.

And maybe you decided to hang a mirror with just picture hanging hooks.    You really should use 50 – 100 lb sized hooks and again, not with a wire, but with the D rings or designated engineered hole bracket. (Sometimes these are not adequate either, as you’ll read below with my experience.) BUT I highly recommend that you need to take it a step further and use wall anchor screws instead of hooks if it has any weight at all.  There are several choices at the store to choose from.

What are designated engineered holes?

Engineered hole

What is a D ring?

D ring

The proper wall anchors have 2 pieces.  One piece is in the wall, and the screw fits securely. 

I speak from experience.  I hung an antique mirror in my home years ago, using a “picture hanging hook” with a wire that hung for years in my aunt’s home without a problem.  The hook I used bent with time and was compromised after hanging there for about 5 years in my home.  The mirror fell and broke, scaring all of us to death and damaging the mirror.  I was not happy.

Several years ago, I hung a mirror with an installation – a BIG mirror, over a sofa.  I used a 100 lb hook.  The mirror was pre-wired and I thought I had tackled the job with success.   Quite a few months passed, maybe even a year; my client called to tell me that it just slid off the wall and onto the sofa.  THANKFULLY, there was little damage to the mirror.  The hook had loosened up with the natural vibrations of the home and the hook loosened and tore the dry wall. Luckily, it just caused the mirror to take a gradual slide down the sofa rather than falling.  My installer was called to secure it properly with wall anchors! 

When that happened, I stopped hanging mirrors on installations and the installer is called in for the task.  Simply stated, “I don’t hang mirrors!” 

I don’t want 7 years bad luck nor do you!

Mirror successfully hung.

Call Cumby for your design needs!
404 483 4174 or email Cumby@CumbysInteriors.com
Visit me on Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

